Go Back   :::.Nissan 4x4 Owners Club.::: > General > The Clubs Virtual Pub

The Clubs Virtual Pub For general chat, so come on in and pull up a chair.

Old 04-07-2007, 19:57   #1
Dalgety4

Default Any LGV drivers out there?

Hi Guys & Gals

Any LGV/HGV drivers (Tacho users) out there :?: ... I have a question......... or two :?
Old 04-07-2007, 19:59   #2
SteveN
Click here to find out how to become a paid up member

Vehicle: 1995 Nissan Mistral

I'm an hgv driver but only work very local so don't spend a lot of time worrying about tachos, but I can always give you an opinion if it helps.

cheers
STEVE
SteveN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 20:00   #3
chumba

Vehicle: nissan terrano se 2002

i drive an artic ill try an help if i can
chumba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2007, 20:12   #4
Dalgety4

That was Fast!!!!

Last year I had to retire early (after 20 years) from the fire service following an injury. Now I am fit enough to work again I thought i would use my HGV qualification for some part time work.

I never had the need to use a tachograph. I am a little confused about what modes a Disc type tacho should be switched to... when they should be switched and which symbols are OTHER WORK and P.O.A

any other info on hours etc would be good...i understand the rules changed in April 2007.

Cheers
Old 04-07-2007, 20:21   #5
chumba

when the card goes in it will display the bed symbol thats break .

press the button to turn on to work which is the small sqaure with a line through it.

the crossed hammers(other work) if you press the button again i never tend to use so cant say alot about it.

you can drive for four and half hours and then you have to have a 45min break(turn on to the little bed for this then back on to the sqaure after it)then you can drive for another four and a half hours.

you can split your break into two if you want eg stop put on break for 15 mins then have 30mins later.after your second break it restarts your 4.30.