Go Back   :::.Nissan 4x4 Owners Club.::: > General > I'm new here, please be gentle

I'm new here, please be gentle This is where you can "introduce yourself". A chance for you as a new member to say hello and for you to tell us about yourselves, your truck and your other interests.

Old 03-01-2018, 01:08   #1
dan_the_drifter
Click here to find out how to become a paid up member

Vehicle: Terrano 2 2.7td
Thumbs up Terrano 2 owner from down south got a couple questions

Hi,

To start sorry for late night post started to write this then got distracted and came back to it ha ha!

I've owned my 2003 2.7 terrano for about a year and a half now, use it as a general runaround but also to tow my drift car to events all over the country. Has been great and very reliable (the reason I bought it in the first place knowing it was gear driven etc) I just have a couple questions:

I am a mechanic by trade but mainly mess around with petrol tuning etc, have a good bit of experience with turbos, boost and afr's on petrols etc but my diesel knowledge is more limited my first question is have many people found any performance gain from fitting a 2.5" exhaust from say the elbow/downpipe back as I have my old s/s system off my 200sx that I upgraded earlier in the year so I could cut up and use that, i'm quite handy with the welder so not worried about fabricating bits. I was going to fit an egt sensor in the downpipe at the same time?

Also what are peoples experience with re-maps on the td27 intercooled engine? I find when towing it could do with just a bit more grunt and it can't quite pull 3rd gear up some of our steep/long motorway hills we have down here in Devon but 2nd is revving the engine flat out. I am pulling 2ton behind it though so not expecting to be racing anyone just curious if people noticed they could stay in a higher gear for a lot longer after a map?

Had a quick look through and you all seem like a friendly bunch. Any help much appreciated! Cheers